top of page
Search

Leaving Home

Updated: Oct 30, 2019

Fayetteville has been my home for over 21 years. The longest I had ever left Fay was for 7 weeks. Now I will be gone for almost a year.


During my Freshman year, I decided that I wanted to leave home on a big adventure, and so I joined the International Engineering Program, knowing I would get to spend my 4th year of college in Germany for up to a year. It didn't fully hit me until 1 week before I left, but I realized that I was about to experience a whole bunch of new things. A different schedule, different friends, different educational system, and a whole new culture.


I remember waking up on the Saturday I was leaving feeling a little nervous, but overall ok. That lasted about 1 hour, when my Mom got the family together in a circle and started to pray. I stood their in the presence of my family's love unable to speak, because I knew I this would be the longest I would go without seeing them, and now I felt truly scared for what was to come.


After a long day of travel, we finally made it to Dallas. After meeting our old friends, Saba took us to the airport and I said goodbye one last time.

Checking my bags

I was flying standby and was so anxious that I wouldn't get on my plane that day, but luckily I did, because the moment I got on that plane I was filled with excitement. This is the adventure that I have longed for and it was time for me to finally experience it! To Germany and Beyond!!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page